Watching the Detectives.

First episode of Sherlock on BBC1 Sunday 9pm. Having always been a fan of the writer Steven Moffet, having written Coupling and Jekyll, I was happy to give this a go, notwithstanding the fact that I was seriously keen on the Sherlock Holmes stories as a child: Avidly obsessive would be a reasonable description of my enthusiasm.

Well acted, particularly, Martin Freeman. One of those actors who does not get the credit he deserves. I thought the plot a little predictable. The scene where they were tracing the GPS on the murdered victim’s mobile as the cabby ascended the stairs with Sherlock remonstrating and trying to solve the dilemma was painful to watch. Working out that Mark Gattiss was Mycroft and not Moriarty was also telegraphed. Liked the style, the use of graphics. The scene where Sherlock gave a description of Watson’s brother by observing details on his mobile was also a bit clumsy but an interesting reworking on the original, I seem to remember Holmes analysing a pocket watch, the scratches around the winder indicating drunkeness. Worth sticking with, though. Now when I hear the word “Moriarty” I have the immortal line, “I’ve got it, it’s Arty Morty!” and if you do not know the reference, you have not seen “Without a clue” and you are missing out on a funny film.

Good to see BBC4 repeating the entire first series of the Swedish version of Wallander on Saturday nights, brilliant television.

This entry was posted in television and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Watching the Detectives.

  1. Kate says:

    I’m so sad I’m missing out on all the Wallander; here in Germany they are showing it on and off, and don’t have subtitles (it’s dubbed) so it’s a bit of a pain! Plus my uni’s proxy doesn’t work with iplayer – grr!

    • kozmikfish says:

      Hi Kate, good to hear from you, hope you are well.

      That is a bit of a drag, sure they will keep repeating them though. They have quite a following and I get the impression that this repeat of the first series was as a result of viewer pressure via BBC blogs. I will, finally, discover what happened to his daughter. I noticed she has the ring tone that Kurt has in the 2nd series, as if he has taken it on as a momento of her??

      All the best and hope you are doing well in Germany

  2. Kate says:

    Yeah, it’s meant to be really, really popular here… Just I remember reading that it’s actually the Ken Branagh version that they really love… not seen any evidence of it yet though!

  3. kozmikfish says:

    I would have thought that once you had sampled the Swedish version the Brannagh series would seem a little flat in comparison.

Leave a Reply

